Adams and Vieira with FA CupOn Sunday we travel to Cardiff in the fourth round of the FA Cup, having sold our allocation of tickets we will visit last season’s losing finalists.

On the way back from Hull on Saturday my attentions turned to next Sundays game – talking to fellow Gooners on the coach – the importance of this game was spit.

Some fans believe that The FA Cup shouldn’t be a priority and that The League and Champions League are our main objectives this season.

For me I can’t accept that – I love the FA Cup. I’m 21 years old but have witnessed some great memories in recent years and I want to add to those memories by winning it again.

Just behind Man U$A, we are the second most successful team in this competition. 10 time winners of this illustrious cup.

But it seems money talks and The FA Cup is quickly becoming as important as the Carling Cup. Not worth a penny.

I hope on Sunday we put out a side capable of winning the tie against Cardiff – I have no doubt Arsene will do this – I just hope the players want to play and win this Cup as much as I do.

I was at Old Trafford last season for that humiliating defeat to Man United – a 4-0 thrashing – one of the hardest results to get over, even now I don’t think I’m over it. I just want to put that all behind me and I think the only thing that will to this is to go all the way.

It wasn’t too long ago that we owned to the Cup and was the team to beat for many years. Now were seem to be nothing in this competition, not taking it seriously.

Ask any ex Gooner what it was like to get a good run in the FA Cup, or even win it – I guarantee they will say it was magical and also helped perform well in the league because it game them confidence.

Basically, if we can get a good run in this cup like we used too, we might actually see our league form benefit from it as well.

GoonerWorld Forum

