Denilson, in my opinion will be Arsenal’s player to watch this season.

 

Interestingly everyone see’s Denilson as a defensive midfielder, however Denilson himself prefers playing the attacking role in the centre of midfield but also stated he was prepared to play anywhere for the team.

 

Denilson said –

 

“I prefer to be an attacking midfielder, but also if necessary, then I like to help out more defensively, like Gilberto does. I like that position too.”

 

 

 

 

The young Brazilian is aware that with Flamini and Gilberto’s departures, he can form a strong partnership with Cesc, and fully believes he is good enough to do so.

 

 He said –

 

“This season is very important for me. I want to be involved in the Premier League, Champions League, FA Cup and Carling Cup. I need to play, every player needs to play, and I believe I can do it. This is a very big season for me.”

 

 

Although yet to feature for the Brazil first team, Denilson has played for his country at every age group from under-15s to under-20s, and captained the under-17s to the final of the 2005 FIFA Under-17 World Championship.

 

Denilson clearly see’s himself as a natural leader.

 

“Yes I was always captain for Brazil, from under-15s upwards. I played in the same side as Anderson, who is now at Manchester United, and Marcelo, who is the left-back at Real Madrid. So I’m used to being the captain and I think it’s natural for me. I like to always speak to my team-mates, on and off the pitch.”

 

During pre-season Denilson was strongly linked with a host of top European clubs but insisted he is fully focused on Arsenal.

 

“I’m just focused on Arsenal, but I know some other clubs were looking at me. Last year I heard Barcelona wanted to buy me, but I really like it here at Arsenal. For me this is the best team, it’s where I want to be. I want to show what I can do for Arsenal.”

 

 

 

Denilson seems determined to take his chance and get a regular first team place. And maybe one day see’s himself as a future captain of Arsenal. I for one wouldn’t mind seeing that.  
So do you think Denilson is good enough to make it at Arsenal and will he find a special spark to link up well alongside Cesc?

 

