Denilson see’s a bright future at Arsenal and hopes this season can be the one where he cements a place in the first team squad after Gilberto and Flamini’s departures.

The young Brazilian rejected a chance to join the high-profile exits, instead aiming to make a sustained first-team impact in his third season at The Emirates.

“I’m just focused on Arsenal, but I know some other clubs were looking at me,” said Denilson. “Last year I heard Barcelona wanted to buy me, but I really like it at Arsenal.

“For me this is the best team, it’s where I want to be. I want to show what I can do for Arsenal.”

Last season Denilson made 23 appearances, but only the four Premier League starts. However, after 42 outings since his £3.4million signing from Sao Paulo in August 2006, he feels now is his time.

He said.

“This season is very important for me. I want to be involved in the Premier League, Champions League, FA Cup and Carling Cup. I need to play, every player needs to play, and I believe in myself. I know I can do it.” Fully refreshed after a summer family break in Brazil, Denilson is now back in the groove with daily double training sessions.

“I am thinking only about working hard, training hard every day, and getting ready for the season,” he said. “I am thinking about my immediate future, and I know this is a big season for me. I know that Arsenal can win trophies this season for sure.”

Denilson could form a  strong partnership alongside Fabregas, who with Spain, now has a European Championship winning medal to his name.

 “Yes, I watched the Euro 2008 final – it was fantastic. I was very pleased for Cesc. I was proud of him because he played fantastically.”

Denilson will have huge competition for a starting place in Arsenal’s midfield. Arsenal have signed midfield duo Aaron Ramsey from Cardiff and Samir Nasri from Marseille, that added to Diaby, Song, Eboue and Walcott who will all want regular first team action in the midfield.

