Arsene Wenger looks set to complete his second summer signing by buying Werder Bremen midfielder Amaury Biscoff.

Reports suggest that Wenger has been tracking Biscoff for some years now and has finally decided to bring him to the Emirates. Biscoff confirmed to German newspaper Bild that the transfer is nearly complete

“Bremen was superb, but Arsenal is a huge opportunity for me,” Bischoff told Bild.

“Wenger has known me since my time at Strasbourg and believes in my quality. He trusts me to be in the first team.

“Wenger has not put me under any pressure. He said, ‘Take all the time you need’.”

The Portugese international also added;

“There remain still some details to be finalised,” Bischoff stated.

“And then we have to wait especially the return of Arsene Wenger who is in Vienna for the Euro 2008 finals. But I hope to sign in the next few days”.

The German club also seem to be resigned to have lost the defensive midfielder. Bremen’s managing director told the clubs official website that Bischoff is set for a new challenge.

“We would be happy to have Amaury, but he has decided to take up a new challenge.

“We wish him well and thank him for the past three years.”

Discuss all the latest transfers here

