Ivory Coast International, Gervinho has claimed Arsenal are interested in his services. The striker, currently playing with French Club, Le Mans says that The Gunners have been in talks with his agent.

In an interview with Skysports, he spoke of Arsenal being a big club, but that Le Mans are unlikely to sell him.

“When I arrived at Le Mans nobody knew me, I had to work hard to get into the first-team. Today I am a bit known in Europe. Arsenal have spoken to my agents and they are looking at it. Arsenal are a big team, they have made it clear they want me. However, Henri Legarda is saying no to them. My club is refusing any discussion with Arsenal because they do not want me to go. My contract runs out in 2010 and they are keen to extend my deal.”

Gervinho went on to say that he will honour his contract, and that he was very flattered by the attention.

“I know Wenger likes signing young players. I prefer to stay in Le Mans and learn my trade at the club that gave me a chance to be linked with a big club.”

Gervinho at 21 is the type of player Arsene Wenger is renowned for signing. Whether or not Gervinho will be another addition to the list of young starlets attracted to Ashburton Grove remains to be seen.

Discuss this and and Arsenal story by clicking here.

