Ljungberg criticizes Wenger

Ex Arsenal star Freddie Ljungberg has criticised Arsene Wenger in the way he was treated. Ljungberg left Arsenal in 2007 and signed with West Ham.

It was rumoured back then that he was forced to leave Arsenal. One year on and Ljungberg speaks about his time at Arsenal.

“It’s all about my injuries. Wenger simply doesn’t like those who show a weakness,” Ljungberg said in the Daily Express.

“With him you generally feel as if you were in the army. It is only in public that he may appear to be some sort of man of liberal views.”

“While I was being treated for an injury they went out and found a different player for my position.”

“After I recovered I was given a chance in the typical Wenger way – I was expected to run and intercept and score just the same as before.”

“He just didn’t give me enough time to do it properly.”

Ljungberg states he did not know Wenger wanted to sell him until he read the papers.

He explained: “I was offended when all of a sudden I learnt from the papers Wenger was ready to consider offers for me from other clubs. No one had talked to me.

“Arsenal showed the door to too many people. Why did they let Thierry Henry go?”

“When I found out about his move I realised the Arsenal I played for were finished.”

Speaking on where he is now and why he chose a Premier League Club:

“I went to West Ham in order to play against Arsenal as often as possible. I wanted to prove that Ljungberg hadn’t had his last word as a player.”

“At West Ham no one gives you a puzzled look if you get called up for your national team and players are never asked to play on injections.”

“I would like to stay there – if they offer of course.”

Click here for more Arsenal News

Leave a Reply

